Sommer Winter

BC – Country of Rainbows and Unicorns

BC - Country of Rainbows and Unicorns

While the European winter falls a little short of his expectations, the Canadian species relative is giving in to his exuberant side. Snowfall, sunshine and stable avalanche conditions made the North American winter shine like the golden silver chest.

When I say ”Rainbows and Unicorns” this year it has to do with two things, namely fresh snow and stability. Indeed, the Canadian West was far removed from the US rainfall, which has taken on almost biblical proportions in recent weeks. Nevertheless, a steady stream of moisture and precipitation arrived in British Columbia at very fresh temperatures. This ensured almost constant perfect snow conditions from the beginning of December to The Dato.

Secondly, regular new snow growth in relatively similar environmental conditions leads to a fairly homogeneous snow cover. Before all this becomes too scientific, I try it this way: This year’ multi-storey cream cuts seem more like the simple cheese cream: Hardly massive layer boundaries and differences … If you turn it on and dig down the 2.8 meters to the ground. (Work SUCKS!)

What remains is a fast-skier recap of this still young season: ”OH MY GOD!” … and a small view of what’s to come: At the end of March we go back to beautiful Austria and – spring has rarely disappoints the last years. Look forward to some ski tours in the local, French and Norwegian Alps!

Greetings Andi

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Es gibt mehr zu entdecken

Experience your adventure with us

Together we will find the right tour for you or do you already know where to go?

Sommer Winter

BC – Country of Rainbows and Unicorns

BC - Country of Rainbows and Unicorns

Während der europäische Winter doch ein wenig zurück bleibt hinter seinen Erwartungen gibt sich der kanadische Artverwandte von seiner überschwänglichen Seite. Schneefall zuhauf, Sonnenschein und stabile Lawinenbedingungen ließen den nordamerikanischen Winter bis dato glänzen wie die goldene Silbertruhe.

Wenn ich sage “Rainbows and Unicorns“ so hat das dieses Jahr mit zweierlei Sachen zu tun, nämlich Neuschnee und Stabilität. Tatsächlich war der kanadische Westen weit entfernten von den Niederschlägen der USA, die in den vergangenen Wochen fast biblische Ausmaße annahmen. Dennoch kam ein steter Strom an Feuchtigkeit und Niederschlägen bei sehr frischen Temperaturen in British Columbia an. Dies sorgte für beinahe konstant perfekte Schneeverhältnisse von Anfang Dezember bis Dato.

Zum Zweiten führt regelmäßiger Neuschneezuwachs bei relativ ähnlichen Umweltbedingungen zu einer ziemlich homogenen Schneedecke. Bevor das alles zu wissenschaftlich wird, probier ichs so: Die mehrstöckige Cremeschnitte mutet heuer eher an wie die einfache Käsesahne: Kaum massive Schichtgrenzen und Unterschiede … Wenn man es sich antut und die 2,8 Meter bis zum Erdreich hinuntergräbt. (Work SUCKS!)

Was bleibt ist ein schneller schifahrerischer Recap dieser noch jungen Saison: “OH MY GOD!“ …und ein kleiner Ausblick was da noch kommt: Ende März gehts wieder zurück ins schöne Österreich und – das Frühjahr hat selten enttäscht die letzten Jahre. Freue mich auf einige Schihochtouren in den heimischen, französischen und norwegischen Alpen!

Viele Grüße Andi

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Es gibt mehr zu entdecken

Erlebe dein Abenteuer mit uns

Gemeinsam finden wir die passende Tour für dich oder weißt du schon, wo es hingehen soll?